First Post: Two things…


… but not the two you’d think.

1) It’s tax season. Which means one of two things: you’re either broke or have just come into some money.

2) We’re well into 2011 and those New Year’s resolutions are looking more and more like my grandpa’s potato fields. I heard a radio ad for a local church last week, actually, that tugged at these very heartstrings. “You wanted to be a better person, to seek God, and be happy. It’s almost March. What happened?”

Given that both my parents work long hours w/ teams in foreign countries and my sister has more extracurriculars than a set of triplets, the role of House Elf lands on me. This includes but is not limited to cooking, cleaning, running errands, and general servitude. I secretly love the domesticity of it all.

Each Sunday night, I perch at my kitchen bar and jot down a rough menu for the week while chatting with my dad about the Sabbath Day’s proceedings. It’s always a lively conversation and reminds me what a beautiful pair (pear?) good food and the Gospel make.

So, tonight, let’s take your two things, add them to my two things (preparing for a mission and being a more consistent blogger), and see what we get.

I promise to blog at least twice a week: once about something from the reading list and once about the week’s latest culinary adventure.

And you promise to set aside some of your tax money to pick up a book or a new ingredient at least once a month.

Deal?

Done.

2 thoughts on “First Post: Two things…

  1. Aw V. You are the best!! Thanks for leaving the comment cause I didn’t know about this little gem. I’m excited to see where this goes (with your genius and all). Goodness. Miss you dear!

    Oh and while your at it, want to plan my menu for the week as well?! 🙂

    • Well… I got inspired by your blog and decided to put all my free time to good use. I hope you enjoy it… and yes I’d love to plan your menu! 🙂

Leave a Reply

